Announcements‎ > ‎

Puerto Rico Democracy Act passed the house

posted Apr 29, 2010, 5:58 PM by Robert Alexander   [ updated Apr 29, 2010, 6:53 PM ]

Greetings, again!

I just wanted you to know that Rep. Rob Wittman’s Chief of Staff just sent me an email to let me know that he will be voting AGAINST the “Puerto Rico Democracy Act of 2009”, HR 2499! Please take a moment to call Rob’s DC office to thank him: 202-225-4261 !!


I am especially pleased that he’s taken this stand after I saw the evidence that Glenn Beck presented in his 5 pm TV show today:

The “New Progressive Party” of Puerto Rico had stated in recent documentation that they were maneuvering to use the “Tennessee Plan” to force their way into statehood without a vote from the US Congress. This historical “plan” was how Tennessee gained statehood from being a territory (hence the name) – the territory citizens voted to become a state, elected representatives & senators, who then showed up in DC to DEMAND their congressional seats from Congress even though the other states had not decided, yet, whether to offer statehood to this territory. While it may have “worked” back then, I don’t see how this kind of ‘back door’ maneuvering would work today, especially since this would open the door to suddenly change the makeup of party numbers for majority status in the House and the Senate. Can you imagine the turmoil if this happens?! Noting that in past votes Puerto Ricans had rejected statehood as a specific choice on the referendum explained why this legislation was using the vague terms of changing “political status” instead of specific terminology regarding statehood on the initial ballot.


Please take a moment early tomorrow, 4/29/10 to contact other sponsors of this bill as listed on the website and copied below. You can access their phone numbers from their official house websites at .

This vote is scheduled for tomorrow, so we need to let our representatives know how we feel NOW!!

Thanks so much!

Take care, & God Bless America!!




HR 2499 Sponsors:


Signed on as sponsors 19 May 2009: Mr. PIERLUISI (for himself, Mr. ABERCROMBIE, Mr. ARCURI, Mr. BAIRD, Ms. BERKLEY, Mr. BERMAN, Ms. BORDALLO, Mr. BOUSTANY, Ms. CORRINE BROWN of Florida, Mr. BROWN of South Carolina, Mr. BURTON of Indiana, Mr. BUTTERFIELD, Mr. CARDOZA, Mr. CASTLE, Ms. CLARKE, Mr. CONNOLLY of Virginia, Mr. CONYERS, Mr. COSTA, Mr. CUELLAR, Mr. DELAHUNT, Mr. DENT, Mr. LINCOLN DIAZ-BALART of Florida, Mr. MARIO DIAZ-BALART of Florida, Mr. DOYLE, Mr. ENGEL, Mr. FALEOMAVAEGA, Mr. FARR, Mr. FATTAH, Mr. FLAKE, Ms. FUDGE, Mr. GERLACH, Mr. GRAYSON, Mr. GENE GREEN of Texas, Mr. HARE, Mr. HASTINGS of Florida, Mr. HIGGINS, Mr. HINCHEY, Mr. HOYER, Ms. JACKSON-LEE of Texas, Mr. JOHNSON of Georgia, Ms. KAPTUR, Mr. KENNEDY, Mr. KILDEE, Ms. KILPATRICK of Michigan, Mr. KLEIN of Florida, Mr. KRATOVIL, Ms. LEE of California, Mr. LEWIS of Georgia, Mr. DANIEL E. LUNGREN of California, Mr. MACK, Mr. MAFFEI, Ms. MARKEY of Colorado, Mr. MASSA, Mr. MCGOVERN, Mr. MCCAUL, Mr. MICA, Mr. MOLLOHAN, Mr. MORAN of Virginia, Ms. NORTON, Mr. OLVER, Mr. ORTIZ, Mr. PENCE, Mr. POE of Texas, Mr. POLIS of Colorado, Mr. PUTNAM, Mr. RAHALL, Mr. REYES, Mr. RODRIGUEZ, Ms. ROS-LEHTINEN, Mr. SABLAN, Mr. SALAZAR, Ms. LORETTA SANCHEZ of California, Mr. SHULER, Mr. SMITH of Washington, Mr. STARK, Mr. TAYLOR, Mr. THOMPSON of Mississippi, Mr. TONKO, Mr. WALZ, Ms. WASSERMAN SCHULTZ, Ms. WATSON, Mr. WATT, Mr. WAXMAN, Mr. WESTMORELAND, Mr. WEXLER, Mr. WILSON of South Carolina, Mr. WU, Mr. YARMUTH, and Mr. YOUNG of Alaska) introduced the following bill; which was referred to the Committee on Natural Resources


Signed on as additional sponsors 8 Oct. 2009: Mr. CUMMINGS, Mr. MCCOTTER, Mr. CONAWAY, Mr. CARTER, Mr. THOMPSON of Pennsylvania, Mr. PETERSON, Mr. KUCINICH, Mr. AL GREEN of Texas, Mr. CULBERSON, Mr. CARSON of Indiana, Ms. SUTTON, Mr. PRICE of North Carolina, Mr. PAUL, Mr. POSEY, Mr. AKIN, Mr. FRANKS of Arizona, Mr. DICKS, Mr. KIND, Ms. SHEA-PORTER, Mr. LANGEVIN, Mr. SCHOCK, Mr. WELCH, Mr. BISHOP of Utah, Mr. ROONEY, Mr. SIRES, Ms. SPEIER, Ms. WOOLSEY, Mr. MARCHANT, Ms. MCCOLLUM, Mr. SMITH of New Jersey, Mr. SPRATT, Mr. PERLMUTTER, Mr. MCDERMOTT, Ms. FALLIN, Mrs. MILLER of Michigan, Mr. CLAY, Mr. LATOURETTE, Mrs. LOWEY, Mr. BILIRAKIS, Mr. DAVIS of Alabama, Mr. MEEKS of New York, Mr. CAPUANO, Mr. HEINRICH, Mr. DOGGETT, Mr. CARNAHAN, Mr. RUPPERSBERGER, Mr. FLEMING, Mr. MARKEY of Massachusetts, Mr. WITTMAN, Mr. SCOTT of Virginia, Mr. MCCARTHY of California, Mr. NUNES, Mr. DRIEHAUS, Ms. CASTOR of Florida, Mr. BRALEY of Iowa, Ms. BALDWIN, Mr. MCKEON, Mr. WALDEN, Ms. KOSMAS, Ms. PINGREE of Maine, Ms. TITUS, Mr. HIMES, Mr. CASSIDY, Mr. THOMPSON of California, Mr. WAMP, Mr. KLINE of Minnesota, Mr. SCHIFF, Ms. TSONGAS, Mrs. MCMORRIS RODGERS, Mr. ROGERS of Alabama, Ms. DEGETTE, Mr. HENSARLING, Mrs. BLACKBURN, Mr. CAMP, Mr. MEEK of Florida, Mr. BACA, Mr. CALVERT, Mr. NEAL of Massachusetts, Ms. HERSETH SANDLIN, Mr. GRIJALVA, Mr. TIERNEY, Mr. ISSA, Mr. LYNCH, Mr. CROWLEY, Mrs. DAHLKEMPER, Mr. BUCHANAN, Mr. TERRY, Mrs. CAPPS, Ms. SLAUGHTER, Mr. SERRANO, Mr. LARSEN of Washington, Ms. GINNY BROWN-WAITE of Florida, and Mr. SHADEGG>